top of page

A Year Abroad: In Love With Paris

My love for Paris all started when I was a little girl. I would see pictures of the city on the internet, from postcards, or even watching movies set in the city. I had been a couple times when I was around 2-4 years old, but don’t remember it very well. It wasn’t until I was 16 that I got to visit the city and see all of the wonderful things it had to offer. Now, only being a 40 minute train ride away from Paris, I visit quite often!

Since being here I have been to Paris for many reasons. Some visits had to do with business affairs, but most visits have been for fun. Within those visits I have already seen the Arc de Triomphe, shopped on the Champs Élysées, visited the Eiffel Tower numerous times (and have climbed it once), and just taken in the beauty of this city. The architecture, culture, food, and the people are all so amazing and so different from home.

I just received my Navigo pass, which works on my train here, and in the metro in Paris, so now I can go whenever I want for free. I plan to go most weekends, as I love to go just walk around in the streets, or read in a cafe or in the park, and even visit the many museums and monuments they have.

There is so much one can do in Paris, just like you can in Washington D.C. or New York City; but being able to practice my French while in my favorite city just makes me enjoy it so much more. I re-fall in love with Paris every time I visit. By the end of my year here I hope to be well knowledged of all of the different regions in France, but I hope to know most about my town I live in (Fontainebleau) and Paris. It truly is one of the most remarkable cities one could ever visit. If you ever get the chance to go, you should take the opportunity!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page