top of page

A Year Abroad: Visiting Santorini


Mamma Mia! I finally got to visit the island that I have dreamt about visiting since I was 12 years old. I spent my first week off from work in Santorini, Greece; and it was by far one of the best vacations I've done yet. I went on some great excisions, shopped, explored, and most of all relaxed. I had a few bumps in the road that I will talk about, but all in all it was a fantastic vacation!

Although I have traveled alone in South Africa and moved to France on my own, this was my first solo trip where nothing was waiting for me at the destination. In South Africa, there was a volunteer program waiting for me, where almost everything except free time was taken care of. In France, I live with a host family, where again everything is taken care of except for my free time. This was my first trip where I really had to plan, budget, and enjoy without a set itinerary. Because I was traveling alone, I met so many people, and although we are probably not going to keep in touch after this trip, it was amazing to just branch out and talk to someone new!

Each day was a different adventure, and all were so amazing and fun! I wanted to talk about each day like a log since so many events occurred, and I want to share all on this amazing adventure!

Day 1, Arrival: I arrived at around 5:30 am, and took a bus to my hostel. When I checked in to my 10 bed mixed dorm, I went to my room only to find a very messy space filled with alcohol and cigarette boxes. Almost every bed was taken except mine. When I went to lay down it was the worse hour of "sleep" I ever had. I did not want to spend my week in a place with no privacy, uncleanliness, and getting little sleep. I began to look for other places to stay, and saw a villa with private rooms that was available. Because it was the end of the tourist season, it was very simple to book. I thankfully got refunded for my stay at the hostel and spent a few hours at a cafe, until I was able to check into my room at the villa. I am extrovert, but being that I get very little alone time as an au pair, and wanted to have a relaxing vacation, I wanted to have a space to myself. I didn't do much the first day except explore a bit of Fira, and tan since the weather was so beautiful. My new accommodation had a roof top deck where you could tan or sit in the hot tub, while seeing a beautiful view of Fira. Due to traveling all night the night before, I wanted to have a simple first day.

Day 2, The Hike to Oia: Although I arrived early morning Friday, I consider Saturday to be my first day really visiting the island. I woke up a bit early so that I could do the hike from Fira to Oia. It was highly recommended by my villa's concierge, and since I love hiking back home in the Shenandoah, I would enjoy it. One thing that my concierge said was that the cause was fairly easy, and mostly down hill; this was a straight up lie however. Most of the trail was up steep hills, and had some dangerous descends. Luckily about 1/3 into the hike, I met this lovely couple (probably around my parents age) who I walked with the rest of the time into OIa. It was nice having some company on a more complex adventure than I had anticipated. We had a lovely conversation, and encouraged one another to finish the trail. Once we arrived in Oia, I was starving and told them I was going to go get lunch at a restaurant. They asked if they could join, and even paid for my meal as a thank you for keeping them company on their last day in Santorini. They were so kind and loving to me for just knowing me such a short time. After lunch, we went our separate ways, but it was so amazing to spend just a short time with such lovely people.

Day 3, Donkey Rides and Wine Tasting: On Sunday, I went to the Old Port of Fira. There are 599 stairs leading down to the port. Now I don't know about you, but I see why Donkey rides are offered here. Since riding a donkey in Santorini has been on my bucket list forever, I decided to do a round trip, which was just about halfway down the stairs and back. The view was incredible, and the donkey was so easy going. The donkeys wear a lot of colorful gear and have bells attached to the reins, so when they walk a little sound is made. Although you only hold on to the saddle, it can be quite challenging when going down the stairs, as they are quite steep, and it's already hard to have control with no reins. All in all it was a wonderful experience, and was so much fun!

After the Donkey Ride at Old port, I went back to the hotel for a bit to tan before getting ready for a wine tasting tour. The tour visited three vineyards out of about 30 on the island. Santorini is mainly known for white wine, however, I did get to try a few reds. Out of the three vineyards, I loved the first vineyard and bought a few bottles as gifts for my parents and host parents. The first vineyard we went to was actually the first vineyard to ever form in Santorini, and was about 80 years old. IT was a lot of fun, and I met a great group of people on the tour. It was a very relaxing tour as well.

Day 4, Visiting Oia: Although I hiked to Oia, by the time I arrived I was too tired to really explore the beautiful little town, I also wasn't wearing the cutest outfit, and wanted to come pack dressed up for some lovely photos. Oia is THE Mamma Mia town. All of the buildings are white (some with blue roofs or accents), and the passage ways are small and narrow. Honestly, it took everything in me not to sing the Mamma Mia soundtrack out loud the entire day. While in Oil I visited a few stores and boutiques, as well as went to see the ruins of an old castle that has some of the most beautiful views of the town and the Aegean sea. While in Oia I discovered a place that has the "kissing fish" which are the fish that eat the dead skin off of your feet. It's really popular is Santorini, so I thought I would try it. Although it was something new, it was also one of the weirdest feelings I've ever had. I will say after doing that, my feet have never been softer. I was originally going to stay for the sunset in Oia, but was going on a sailing tour the next day that included seeing the sunset. So I left to go back to Fira for dinner, and ended my day there.

Day 5, Boat Tour: On Tuesday, I spent the whole day on a boat tour that went to a few small islands surrounding Santorini. The first island that we visited, is the island of the active volcano (that is actually responsible for the separation of the islands). Now again, the Greeks lied to me as they said this was going to be a very relaxing day filled with swimming and sunshine. We arrive at the island, and they told us we had an hour to hike... HIKE! I wore flip flops, a maxi skirt, and a one-piece swimsuit. I was in no condition to hike up a steep hill - and yet I did so anyway. Although I struggled the whole time, the views were so beautiful as the super blue sky and sea, as well as the not-so-far off view of Santorini was spectacular. When I arrived back on the boat, I met a very sweet couple (again probably around the same age as my parents), and we spent the rest of the day together. After visiting the volcano island, we went to the hot springs to swim for a bit. As much as I hate swimming, and am terrified of open water, I jumped in for a few minutes! The water was so salty, but quite enjoyable to swim in! We then made our way to a very small island, Thirassia, to have lunch. I had lunch with the lovely couple I met. On this island, and also in Santorini, there are many stray cats and dogs. At the restaurant we went to, there were about 8 cats or so begging for our food. I met a sweet little kitten (and it took so much not to take him back on the boat with me), who sat in my lap and let me cuddle him and play with him. After our lunch, we grabbed an ice cream sundae, before heading back on the boat. From there we went back to the new port where we got off the boat to take the bus to Oia for the sunset. It is supposedly the best sunset in the world. It was beautiful, but I still think my favorites have been the ones I seen at home on the lake and also at the top of signal hill in South Africa. After watching the sunset, I made my way back to Fira to call it a day. It was a beautiful day on the water, and I met so many lovely new people.

Day 6, Caldera Ride: Wednesday morning, I had booked a ride with Santorini riding through the Caldera Cliffs. There were three other girls around my age who did the same tour as me. The guide asked who had the most experience, and although I have only ever done trail rides and the fastest I've gone is trot, that supposedly made me the most experienced. He gave me a horse named Takis, who was about six years old and full thoroughbred. He had beautiful blue eyes, yet little did I know that he was the devil in disguise. The start of the trail went very well. He trotted quite a bit, which I think we both enjoyed. He looked so proud trotting through the town filled with locals and tourists looking at us all riding through. It wasn't until we got to the actual dangerous part of the excursion that he started acting up. Something happened with the horse riding in front of me that caused Takis to panic, and he tried to pick up his front legs... while going down a fairly steep hill. I was able to control and stop him, but I was freaking out quite a bit. then he had a slight freak out because he heard an unfamiliar noise, but thankfully he didn't try to pick up his front legs again. Once we got the cliff to take pictures I was the last to go, and he was not wanting to obey to my commands, and I was nervous due to being close to edge of the cliff. Coming back one of the girls rode right by us which startled Takis, causing him to dance in circles until I was able to stop him. I have never seen my life flash before my eyes until that moment. I really thought I wasn't going to stop him and fall off, and roll down the cliff to my death (yes - a bit dramatic, but it was absolutely terrifying). After he calmed down, he no longer wanted to listened to me and kept bobbing his head back every time I took control of him with the reins. Although he listened, it was clear that he didn't want to. Before leaving the Caldera cliffs, Takis had one more freak out going up a fairly steep hill and tried to raise his front legs again. Although Takes still did not listen, we were at least away from the cliffs, and back in the main town which is a much safer place to fall of a horse in my opinion if he decides to have another freak out. Although my horse may not have been the best option for me, the views that I saw on this trail were magnificent. would highly recommend doing a horse ride in Santorini, just maybe make sure you don't get Takis. I think I miss him least of all from this whole adventure!

Day 7, Kamari Beach: Thursday was a very relaxing day. After my horse ride the day before, I spent a few hours at Kamari beach. I decided to come back for the full day on Thursday. Like any beach day, it was very relaxing! A perfect way to detox after a stressful trail ride the day before!

Day 8, Spa Day: For my last full day in Santorini, the forecast had stated rain all day long, so I booked a full spa day and hair cut appointment a few days before. I paid a little less than 300 euros for quite a bit of treatments. A facial and body treatment, a one hour body massage, a manicure and pedicure, and then an eyebrow waxing and haircut. Back home all of that would cost $500 or more at a decent place. This place was amazing and very professional, and being that I was going to be going back to work in just two days, I wanted to have a day of relaxation and de-stressing. It was the perfect end to an amazing vacation.

I flew back quite early the next day, and was back in Paris by 10:30 am. However, it still took me 3 hours to get home, because some of the trains were on strike. It was sad coming home to rainy, cold weather; but I made a lot of amazing memories in Santorini, and can't wait to hopefully go back one day!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page